Health People, Healthy North
Province Announces New Board of Directors
New Chairs, Boards to Guide Provision of Health Care:  Goertzen

The Manitoba government has appointed new boards for the five provincial regional health authorities to guide the provision of health-care services across the province, Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced November 8, 2016.

The new board chair for Northern Regional Health Authority if Cal Huntley from Flin Flon, Manitoba.  Cal has been a member of the NHR Board since the amalgamation in 2012.  

“Regional health authority boards are responsible for the resources and performance of the health-care system, and I know these knowledgeable and skilled Manitobans will work hard to ensure the future of health care in this province,” said Goertzen.  “As we focus on improving and ensuring the sustainability of health care, these people will help ensure the best possible care is available right across Manitoba.”

As per the Regional Health Authorities Act, the minister of health, seniors and active living appoints directors to each regional health authority board.  Board members of regional health authorities must ensure the organization complies with applicable legislation, regulations, provincial policies and ministerial directives.  The Winnipeg Regional Health Authority board can have up to 15 board members, while rural and northern regional health authorities can have up to 12 board members.

The selection of board members was based on a range of knowledge and skills, in such areas as governance in public-sector, private-sector or not-for-profit boards, government structures and processes, law, business, finance and accounting, among others, the minister noted.

The minister noted each regional health authority has also created local health involvement groups.  These organizations, made up of area residents, provide local advice to regional boards on issues that affect the delivery of local health services.

“As we move forward, I want to thank all those who have given their time and commitment to serve on the boards of the regional health authorities,” said Goertzen.  “Their hard work and efforts on behalf of Manitobans are very appreciated.”

Northern Regional Health Authority Board Members

• Cal Huntley, chair (Flin Flon) 
• Carrie Atkinson, vice-chair (The Pas)                   
• Wayne Hall (Thompson)                          
• Elaine Kobelka (The Pas)                                         
• Judith Kolada (Thompson)                                      
• Christopher Matechuk (Thompson)                     
• Leslie Oystryk (Creighton, Sask.) 
• Duncan Wong (Thompson)
• John Marnock (The Pas)                                         
• Glen (Norman) Ross (The Pas)                               
• Anne Kenny Thompson (Lynn Lake)       

Note:  Names in bold indicates a new board member.  The location listed is the board member’s residence.

Facebook TWITTER